Journal of Pharmaceutical Research on Advanced Chemistry

(for innovative research)



The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded 109 times to 178 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2017. Frederick Sanger is the only Nobel Laureate who has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry twice, in 1958 and 1980. This means that a total of 177 individuals have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. 

Year Award winner Country Research/Discovery
1901 Jacobus Henricus van 't Hoff        Netherlands Discovery of the laws of chemical dynamics and osmotic pressure in solutions
 1902    Hermann Emil Fischer  Germany Sugar and purine syntheses
 1903    Svante August Arrhenius  Sweden Electrolytic Theory of dissociation
1904 Sir William Ramsay United Kingdom Discovery of the inert gaseous elements in air, and his determination of their place in the periodic system
1905 Johann Friedrich Wilhelm Adolf von Baeyer Germany The advancement of organic chemistry and the chemical industry, through his work on organic dyesand hydroaromatic compounds
 1906 Henri Moissan France  Investigation and isolation of the element fluorine
1907 Eduard Buchner Germany Biochemical researches and his discovery of cell-free fermentation
1908   Ernest Rutherford

 United Kingdom

New Zealand

Investigations into the disintegration of the elements, and the chemistry ofradioactive substances
1909 Wilhelm Ostwald  Germany On catalysis and  investigations into the fundamental principles governing chemical equilibria and rates of reaction
1910 Otto Wallach Germany Services to organic chemistry and the chemical industry by his pioneer work in the field of alicyclic compounds
 1911   Maria Skłodowska-Curie

Russian Empire


The discovery of the elements radium and polonium, by the isolation of radium and the study of the nature and compounds of this remarkable element
1912     Victor Grignard  France For the discovery of the  Grignard reagent 
  Paul Sabatier  France Method of hydrogenating organic compounds in the presence of finely disintegrated metals 
1913  Alfred Werner Switzerland On the linkage of atoms in molecules, especially in inorganic chemistry 
1914    Theodore William Richards United States Accurate determinations of the atomic weight of a large number of chemical elements
1915 Richard Martin Willstätter  Germany Researches on plant pigments, especially chlorophyll
1918 Fritz Haber       Germany For the synthesis of ammonia from its elements
 1920 Walther Hermann Nernst  Germany In thermochemistry